Mixtapes + Mango

pairing vegetarian food and good tunes

Bagel + Tomato Snow Day Breakfast

4 Comments

A Snow Day in the south isn’t common. This is my first winter in this part of the country, and when snow is in the forecast, everything shuts down, even when the snow is 12 hours later than expected.

IMG_0397

I’m happily on my second day off from my job. This unexpected time off is what sparked the creation of Mixtapes + Mango. People have been telling me for years that I should write a food blog or a cookbook. Or my favorite: open a bakery. Yes, please!

It’s funny that starting a food blog takes so much time away from the kitchen at first. I’ve hardly found time to cook in the last couple of days, hence why this bagel is hardly a recipe. I’m compiling a schedule of recipes to hopefully bring you something tasty once a week. Stay tuned for more.

IMG_0395

Snow Day Bagel with Tomatoes
Makes 1 bagel

1 Multigrain bagel
3 tablespoons Cream cheese or vegan cream cheese
5-6 Grape or Cherry tomatoes
1 teaspoon Sesame seeds
Sea salt + Fresh cracked black pepper, to taste

Toast your bagel. Don’t burn it or your relaxing snow day will be ruined.¬†Slice your tomatoes in half. Spread cream cheese of your choice on your toasted bagel, top with tomatoes, sesame seeds, salt, and pepper.

Optional:¬†This would be nice with sliced cucumber added, or a handful of arugula and a drizzle of olive oil if you have those things on hand. I clearly don’t.

Serve with a steaming cup of coffee or your favorite tea. Curl up on the couch under a blanket with your cat, and stay warm.

Author: Jen

I write about food, music, and my cat, Mango

4 thoughts on “Bagel + Tomato Snow Day Breakfast

  1. Excellent food photo composition! :)

    • Aw, Andi! Thanks so much. I’m really working hard on it. I have NO fancy equipment! Just an old point-and-shoot and the light coming in from my windows. :)

  2. I definitely like the song selection. Reminds me of Morrisey/The Smiths a little.

Leave a Reply

