Mixtapes + Mango

pairing vegetarian food and good tunes

Kale, Pear, and Hazelnut Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette

Leave a comment

IMG_0444

Spring is supposedly upon us, but I don’t believe it. There was ice on my car this morning. I’m going to keep pretending summer is right around the corner for us because that’s the only thing getting me by at this point.

And lots of fresh produce, even as I continue to crave soups.

IMG_0451

Hence this bright spring salad. The lemon vinaigrette will perk you up – plus, it’s easy and better than any store-bought salad dressing.

IMG_0459

I enjoyed this massive salad for lunch with a hunk of crusty, seedy bread. I wish I could tell you that recipe was forthcoming, but unfortunately, Whole Foods will forever make better bread than I ever can. I will someday share my easy no-knead breads with you, though. They’re still pretty tasty.

You can enjoy chopping the ingredients for your salad with this super dance-y tune. One of my favorite bands, Grizzly Bear, released their B-side to one of my favorite albums of 2012, “Shields,” at the end of last year. Diplo took one of the demos and spun this bass-heavy track into existence. I’m not huge on remixes, but this one has my attention. What do you think?

Kale, Pear, and Hazelnut Salad with Lemon Vinaigrette
Makes 4 side-dish servings, or 2 giant salads

8 stalks lacinato/dinosaur kale (about half a bunch)
1 bosc pear
1/2 cup toasted hazelnuts (almonds or pecans would be okay, too)
1 lemon (or about 6 tablespoons lemon juice)
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 teaspoon honey or agave (support local bees!)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

With a sharp knife, remove stems from kale so you just have the leaves in long strips. Group these together length-wise in layers or bunches. Slice very thinly across so you have lots of short little strips. Add chopped kale to a large bowl.

Chop your pear to your liking and roughly chop your hazelnuts. Add these to the bowl with the kale.

For lemon vinaigrette: Cut your lemon in half, and juice it into a small bowl. Add olive oil, dijon mustard, honey or agave, salt, and pepper. Whisk or stir vigorously with a fork into a smooth consistency.

Add vinaigrette to your bowl of salad and toss to combine. If raw kale is a bit too intense for you, massage it around a bit with your hands to soften the kale and its bitterness. Serve immediately.

Author: Jen

I write about food, music, and my cat, Mango

Leave a Reply

